Felton History: Heavenly Cafe – Lee Worley

This wonderful photo was donated by Larry Worley, Lee’s son.

Lee Worley, Heavenly Cafe and Catering, Felton.

Lee Worley, Heavenly Cafe and Catering, Felton.

This entry was posted in Downtown Felton, Felton Businesses, Felton History, Highway 9 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Felton History: Heavenly Cafe – Lee Worley

  1. Jim Costella says:

    I remember going there after church and having a hambuger on Sundays with my parents.

    Like

    • Geoff Harris says:

      My family went there after church too! My favorite was the bbq-beef hamburger! We moved from Half Moon Bay (my parents wanted to escape the fog) to El Solyo Heights Dr, in 1968, then to Hihn Rd. a few years later. I spent my formative years in the San Lorenzo Valley and have lots of fond memories!

      Like

      • vickiwees says:

        Hi Geoff! So glad the photos on my blog brought back some happy memories for you. If you have any stories or photos you’d like to share, we’re always looking for more little tidbits of info. Like the bbq beef hamburger! Don’t think I ever had one of those. Sounds yummy!!! Thanks so much for your comment, Geoff. Hope you enjoy my blogs. FYI there’s another blog: http://santacruzblogazine.com/ that’s got some pretty cool stuff of all of Santa Cruz County and beyond. Enjoy! Vicki

        Like

  2. vickiwees says:

    Didn’t they have the yummiest food! My era was a bit later. In the 1980’s I took my son’s class on a field trip to Heavenly. Somewhere I still have a couple of the old letters the teacher made the students write thanking me. Poor kids 🙂

    Like

  3. Jim Lind says:

    My aunt & uncle (Gladyce & Conrad Berg) owned Heavenly Hamburgers from April 1966 until March 1978. I learned to cook working there!

    Like

    • vickiwees says:

      Hi Jim, Thanks so much for that info! If you have any other tidbits or photos you’d like to share, please do. That’s so cool you learned to cook there. Their food was AWESOME!

      Like

    • Mike Oligher says:

      Jim I think my Grandparents Doloris and Leo Oligher sold the restaurant to your aunt and uncle. I would work there in the summer washing dishes and helping her make her deep dish pies. This picture of Lee Worthey holding a pie was I believe made by my grandmother.
      I remember Lee as a waitress there.

      Like

      • vickiwees says:

        Hi Mike! What a neat bit of history. Thanks so much for sharing it. You wouldn’t happen to have any photos of the old Cafe and/or your grandparents or you in it? How cool that your grandmother probably made the pie in the photo. I also appreciate knowing the names of the previous owners. Oligher is a name unfamiliar to me so it’s great to be able to learn more about the history and the people. Any idea approx. what years your grandparents owned the cafe? Did it have the same name? Did you live in Felton? Any old Felton photos or stories you’d like to share (or surrounding areas)? I’m glad we’re in touch! Vicki

        Like

  4. Mike Oligher says:

    Hi Vicki
    The name was Heavenly Hamburgers. I believe it was 1958 to 1962. I was born raised in San Mateo and would spend my summers with them. I believe I still have some pic’s but they are in storage .We are moving to the desert soon but when we get organized I’ll drum them up and post.
    Believe it or not I just got back from Felton did a little reminiscing. The market is still there but it was called Roy’s back then. I remember a teenager working and washing dishes. He would grab me and we sneak off to the bridge behind and go fishing. Thanks for responding. I wonder what ever became of Lee Worley. My grandma Doloris’s specialty was the little deep dish pies and larger ones. In fact I still have her recipes.
    Mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

